

COMMITTEE CHARGE STUDY ABROAD RULES AND PROCEDURES COMMITTEE

Rules & Procedure:

The committee will review and revise existing policies for the West Texas A&M University Study Abroad Program. The Committee will produce a new draft document that describes all policies and operating procedures for the Study Abroad Program. The document will be submitted for administrative review. The Rules and Procedures established by the Study Abroad Programs Office at Texas A&M University can serve as a prototype for the WTAMU document.

Types of International Experiences:

The Study Abroad Committee will define four types of international experiences for students. The Committee will establish the academic and logistic guidelines for each type of program including a University approval process.

- **Faculty-Led Programs:** Committee will establish draft guidelines for Faculty-led international experiences. The Committee will establish general guidelines for course content, student eligibility for participation, and course approval. Students eligible for participation in a faculty-led experience must be enrolled in the specific course(s) that is approved for the international experience.
- **Exchange Agreements:** The committee will establish draft requirements for reciprocal exchange agreements with international universities.
- **Affiliation Agreements/Non-WTAMU Programs:** The committee will establish draft procedures for affiliating with providers and overseas universities.
- International Internships: The committee will draft guidelines for students that complete degree required internships abroad.

Scholarship Awards:

The committee will establish the amount of scholarship assistance each student can be provided for each type of study abroad experience dependent on length of time spent abroad and cost of the program. The committee will suggest changes to the scholarship program itself, such as awarding on cost, length of time abroad, need, etc. Note that a student must have contributed to the International Student Fee in order to be eligible to receive funds from this source.

Safety & Liability:

Safety of the student is of utmost importance when a student studies abroad. The University must take steps to ensure student safety. University liabilities must also be addressed.

Emergency Response Team:

The Committee will suggest the composition and responsibilities of an Emergency Response Team. The Team will be responsible for responding to emergency situations that may arise while the student is abroad, such as political unrest, student health crisis, emergency evacuation, death, etc.



Student Concerns:

The Committee will establish a process for reviewing and responding to student complaints or concerns.

Members:

The SARPC is comprised of faculty members representing the University's colleges, the director of Study Abroad and Nationally Competitive Scholarships, and the coordinator of Study Abroad and Nationally Competitive Scholarships. Committee members are appointed by the Executive Vice President and Provost and serve for a 2-year term, renewable.

Name	College/department	Term ends
Carolina Galloway (chair)	Director of Study Abroad	N/A
	and Nationally Competitive	
	Scholarships	
Jonathan Cordova	Coordinator of Study Abroad	N/A
	and Nationally Competitive	
	Scholarships	
Dr. Laura Bell	COESS	2023
Dr. Vanessa Fiaud	CONHS	2022
Dr. Roy Issa	COECS	2022
Dr. Enyonam Osei-Hwere	COFAH	2023
Dr. Troy Tarpley	PECANS	2022
	PEVCOB	Currently vacant